Sports Pages → Cross Country

Cross Country News

Updated Tue Jun 25, 2019 (11:49 am) by Louise Carson

Congratulations to St Hilda's who won the IGSSA X-Country Champion School title in 2019, defending their title! It was a very close carnival with MLC moving up a position from last year to finish in 2nd place, and PLC climbing up the ranks to take out 3rd position. Please see the results section for more details.

The 2020 Cross Country Event will be held on Friday the 19th of June at Aldebury Reserve. This competition is traditionally held in Week 8 of Term 2 on Friday afternoon at Alderbury Reserve. Racing starts at 2.45pm.

Ten students from each year group of each school compete with Year 7-9 girls running a 3km course and Year 10-12 girls running a 4km course around Alderbury Reserve and Perry Lakes.

Spectators are welcome and requested to park in side streets on the East side of Alderbury Street & in certain areas on Aldebury St. There is to be no parking on the marked sections of Aldebury Street (this is for buses only), and parents are not to park in the Bold Park Carpark at the entrance of Perry Lakes Drive. Town of Cambridge Rangers will also allow parking on Perry Lakes Drive for the duration of the carnival.

Please clink on the link for X-Country spectator information.

The overall results and Year group results can be found below. Individual results can also be seen below, but due to the privacy act, IGSSA cannot publish the names of runners. Individuals can be identified by their chip number on the day. Please contact your school for information on your race number or if you would like details on individual placings and times.

Cross Country Programme

Yellow line indicates 3km course for Year 7-9. Red line shows the 4km course for Year 10-12.

Cross Country Results

2019 X-Country Results





St Hilda's









St Mary's






Santa Maria






Perth College


2019 Year Pennant Results

For individual competitor results (runner number is required as names cannot be published), please click on

2019 Blue Chip Timing Results

2018 Blue Chip Timing Results

2017 Blue Chip Timing Results

2016 Blue Chip Timing Results

2015 Blue Chip Timing Results

2014 Blue Chip Timing Results

2013 Blue Chip Timing Results



Cross Country Records

Click on the link for a the history of schools that have won the IGSSA Cross Country.

Cross Country Rules


Alderbury Reserve, Perry Lakes (opposite YMCA Clubrooms)

Teams Numbers and Scoring

Yr 11/12 combined maximum of 10 runners with 5 scores to count.
Yr 7, 8, 9 & 10 maximum of 10 runners with 5 scores to count.

In each race a maximum of 80 runners will start. At the finish 1st place = 1 point, 2nd place = 2 points and so on, until the last girl finishes. The team with the lowest number of points is the winning team (only the fastest five runners from each school count).

Distances and Event Times

Year 7, 8 & 9     3 kilometres
Years 10 & 11/12      4 kilometres

2.45pm - Year 7
3.00pm - Year 8
3.15pm - Year 9
3.30pm - Year 10
3.45pm - Year 11/12   (Marshalling occurs 15 minutes prior to event)

Presentations will occur at approxiametely 4:20pm

Cross Country Guidelines

All competitors must have their individual number on their left upper arm and their timing chip on their left ankle.

Competitors must go to the marshalling area 15 minutes before the start time of their event.